SMILEY

Smart and Independent Living for the Elderly

SMILEY: System Graphic
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

SMILEY: System Graphic

The goal of the “SMILEY“ project is to promote mutual support among members of intergenerational communities through an infrastructure of microsystem technology, with the inclusion of professional services.

One focus of the project is the intelligent embedding of microsystem technology in the domestic setting so as to enable persons of all ages to handle problems in their own residential environment – alone, with their local community, or with the involvement of qualified external service providers.

Individual requirements are to be taken into account in orchestrating and optimizing the composition of local social resources and services with the help of microsystem technology. The goal is the self-determination of, especially, older persons in their utilization of technology and service offerings.

Guided by these principles, the project is developing and evaluating a demonstrator for the technical support of integrated service networks. New types of algorithms for situation analysis and the provision of services are being created, along with user interfaces that meet the needs of different generations:

  • Marketing models, e. g., via housing associations (product bundling),
  • Models for the direct marketing of the developed solutions to private customers,
  • Financing models for the services offered, on the basis of fees or rental and leasing revenue from commercial and private system users, commissions for the brokering of service agreements with external service providers, and the co-financing of individual solution components through public and private providers of health, nursing care, and accident insurance (upon proof of a gain in actuarial value).

Alongside acceptance analyses and usability studies, the “SMILEY“ project seeks to increase acceptance through an engagement with questions about ethics and data protection law, as well as the elaboration of ethical implementation guidelines for integrated service networks.

Funding

Logo SMILEY Funding
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo SMILEY Funding

The project was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) from October 1, 2010, to September 30, 2012, under the code 01FC10001. The project sponsor was the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

SMILEY

Smart and Independent Living for the Elderly

SMILEY: Systemgrafik
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

SMILEY: Systemgrafik

Ziel des Projekts »SMILEY« ist es, durch eine mikrosystemtechnische Infrastruktur die gegenseitige Unterstützung nachbarschaftlich lebender Menschen verschiedener Generationen zu unterstützen und dabei professionelle Dienstleistungen einzubinden.

Ein Fokus des Projekts richtet sich auf die intelligente Einbettung von Mikrosystemtechnologie im häuslichen Umfeld, die es allen Generationen ermöglicht, Probleme im eigenen Wohnumfeld zu bewältigen – alleine, mit ihrer lokalen »Community« oder unter Einbeziehung qualifizierter externer Dienstleistungsunternehmen.

Anhand individueller Anforderungen ist die Komposition von lokalen sozialen Ressourcen und Dienstleistungsangeboten mit Hilfe von Mikrosystemtechnologie zu orchestrieren und zu optimieren. Ziel ist die selbstbestimmte Nutzung von Technologie und Dienstleistungsangeboten, insbesondere durch ältere Menschen.

Aufbauend auf diesen Leitsätzen wird ein Demonstrator für die technische Unterstützung integrierter Dienstleistungsnetzwerke entwickelt und evaluiert. Neuartige Algorithmen zur Situationsanalyse und Leistungsbereitstellung werden erarbeitet, ebenso wie generationengerechte Benutzungsschnittstellen:

  • Vermarktungsmodelle z. B. über Wohnungsbaugesellschaften (Produkt-Bundling),
  • Modelle für die direkte Vermarktung der entwickelten Lösungen an Privatkunden,
  • Finanzierungsmodelle der angebotenen Leistungen durch Gebühren / Miet- und Leasingeinnahmen von gewerblichen und privaten Systemnutzern, Vermittlungsprovisionen bei Vermittlung von Dienstleistungsaufträgen an externe Leistungsanbieter, und Ko-Finanzierung einzelner Lösungskomponenten durch gesetzliche und private Kranken-, Pflege- und Unfallversicherungen (bei Nachweis eines versicherungsmathematischen Mehrwerts).

Zur Verbesserung der Akzeptanz umfasst das Projekt »SMILEY« neben dezidierten Akzeptanzanalysen und Usability-Studien auch die Betrachtung ethischer und datenschutzrechtlicher Fragestellungen sowie die Ausarbeitung ethischer Umsetzungsrichtlinien für integrierte Dienstleistungsnetzwerke.

Förderung

Logo SMILEY Förderung
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo SMILEY Förderung

Das Projekt wurde vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 01FC10001 von 1. Oktober 2010 bis 30. September 2012 gefördert. Projektträger war das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).