ACCOMPANY

Socially Acceptable Service Robots for Support at Home

ACCOMPANY: Diagram User-centered Design and Technology
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

ACCOMPANY: Diagram User-centered Design and Technology

The objective of the “ACCOMPANY“ project is to develop a “robot companion“ as part of an intelligent living environment that simplifies independent living at home for older persons in a motivating and socially acceptable manner.

The “ACCOMPANY“ system is designed to offer physical, cognitive, and social support in everyday tasks, while at the same time assuming preventive functions, e. g., by helping the user to carry out certain activities independently.

The relationship between user and robot is intended to take the form of “mutual learning”, in which each helps the other, so that the user is not dominated by the technology, but rather physically, cognitively, and socially enabled.

In order to address not only the technological, but also the ethical challenges of the project, “ACCOMPANY“ is carried out by a multidisciplinary team.

Other research topics include the acceptance, security, reliability, and efficiency of the system.

The “Care-O-bot®“ 3, developed by the Fraunhofer Institute IPA, serves as the application platform.

Regular evaluations of the interim results are anchored in the project in the form of user panels and user tests.

The user is included on an ongoing basis to ensure that the project development is user centered rather than technology driven. In an effort to eliminate cultural influences, user tests are conducted not just in Germany, but also in England, the Netherlands, and France.

“ACCOMPANY“ is funded by the European Union.

ACCOMPANY

Sozial akzeptable Service-Roboter zur Unterstützung zu Hause

ACCOMPANY: Diagramm User-centered Design and Technology
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

ACCOMPANY: Diagramm User-centered Design and Technology

Ziel des »ACCOMPANY«-Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines »Roboter-Gefährten« als Teil einer intelligenten Wohnumgebung, der älteren Menschen das unabhängige Leben zu Hause auf motivierende und sozial akzeptable Weise vereinfacht.

Das »ACCOMPANY«-System soll dafür physische, kognitive und soziale Unterstützung bei Alltagsaufgaben anbieten, gleichzeitig aber auch präventive Funktionen übernehmen, z. B. indem es dem Benutzer dabei hilft, bestimmte Tätigkeiten selbstständig auszuführen.

Die anvisierte Beziehung zwischen Nutzer und Roboter ist das »gegenseitige Lernen« – beide sollen sich gegenseitig unterstützen, damit der Nutzer von der Technologie nicht dominiert, sondern physisch, kognitiv und sozial befähigt wird.

Um nicht nur den technologischen, sondern auch den ethischen Herausforderungen des Projektes zu begegnen, wird das Projekt von einem multidisziplinären Team bearbeitet.

Andere Forschungsthemen sind Akzeptanz, Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Effizienz des Systems.

Als Anwendungsplattform fungiert der vom Fraunhofer-Institut IPA entwickelte »Care-O-bot® 3«.

Im Projekt sind regelmäßige Evaluierungen der entwickelten Projektergebnisse in Form von User Panels und Nutzertests verankert.

Durch die kontinuierliche Einbeziehung des Nutzers soll gewährleistet werden, dass die Entwicklung nicht technologiegetrieben, sondern nutzerzentriert erfolgt. Zur Elimination kultureller Einflüsse werden Nutzertests nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in England, den Niederlanden und Frankreich durchgeführt.

Das »ACCOMPANY«-Projekt wird von der Europäischen Union gefördert.