lifescience.biz

Development and Management of Hybrid Business Models in Healthcare and Wellness

Logo lifescience.biz
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo lifescience.biz

Even outstanding products do not sell themselves. Many highly innovative products compete on the medical technology market. Most of these are designed for specific indications, have only a limited number of users, and are therefore expensive. The area of prevention offers a much larger market.

To create attractive offerings, technological innovation must be combined with corresponding service components. For the “best agers” – consumers 45 years and older – such offerings represent an improvement in, or at least the preservation of, their state of health. Healthier “best agers” today are healthier seniors tomorrow.

The “lifescience.biz“ project brings together new technological possibilities, market and customer demands, and innovative business models. It applies a service-engineering approach to the area of wellness and health. Practical testing is carried out jointly with four partners from industry. These case studies are documented in the form of “good practices” or “best practices”.

Funding

logo_bmbf_945_650
© Fraunhofer IIS
Logo German Aerospace Center (DLR)
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo German Aerospace Center (DLR)

The joint project “lifescience.biz – Entwicklung und Management hybrider Geschäftsmodelle im Gesundheits- und Wellnesswesen” was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) from December 1, 2008, to February 28, 2013, under the code 01FC08063. The project sponsor was the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

lifescience.biz

Entwicklung und Management hybrider Geschäftsmodelle im Gesundheits- und Wellnesswesen

Logo lifescience.biz
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo lifescience.biz

Auch hervorragende Produkte verkaufen sich nicht von selbst. Auf dem Markt für Medizintechnik konkurrieren viele hochinnovative Produkte. Diese sind meist für spezielle Indikationen ausgelegt. Durch die relativ geringe Zahl der Anwender sind die Kosten des Einsatzes hoch. Ein viel größeres Marktvolumen bietet der Bereich der Prävention.

Um attraktive Angebote zu schaffen, müssen technische Innovationen mit entsprechenden Dienstleistungskomponenten verbunden werden. Für die Gruppe der »Best-Ager« – den Konsumenten mit einem Lebensalter ab 45 Jahren – bieten solche Angebote eine Verbesserung oder zumindest einen Erhalt des Gesundheitszustands. Gesündere »Best-Ager« heute sind »gesündere Senioren« morgen.

Das Projekt »lifescience.biz« verbindet neue technische Möglichkeiten, Markt- und Kundenanforderungen sowie innovative Geschäftsmodelle. Der »Service Engineering«-Ansatz wird auf den Bereich des Wellness- und Gesundheitswesens angewandt. Eine praktische Überprüfung findet zusammen mit vier Industriepartnern statt. Diese Fallstudien werden in Form von Good bzw. Best Practices dokumentiert.

Förderung

Logo Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), lifescience.biz Förderung
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), lifescience.biz Förderung

Logo Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)

Das Verbundvorhaben »lifescience.biz – Entwicklung und Management hybrider Geschäftsmodelle im Gesundheits- und Wellnesswesen« wurde vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 01FC08063 vom 1. Dezember 2008 bis 28. Februar 2013 gefördert. Der Projektträger war das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).