Tech4P

Strategies for Integrating Technology in Personal Services

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Technical Home Help for the Detection of Health Data
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Technical Home Help for the Detection of Health Data

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Technical Mobility Assistant in Cases of Emergency
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Technical Mobility Assistant in Cases of Emergency

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Communication Support Assistant for Appropriate Service Providers
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Use of the Care-O-bot® as a Communication Support Assistant for Appropriate Service Providers

In order to continue providing personal services to the broader population in high quality and at reasonable cost in the future, these services must be delivered more efficiently.

The goal of the “Tech4P“ project was to develop strategies to support personal services by means of modern technologies.

On the basis of three concrete case studies – technical household help, virtual trainer, and technical mobility assistance – the optimal interfaces between person, technology, and organization were identified.

The “Care-O-bot®“ 3, developed by the Fraunhofer Institute IPA, was regarded as a prototype for technical domestic assistance. Here, the use of the robot was investigated for, especially, communication support for respective service providers, e. g., in emergencies or for the gathering of health data.

Furthermore, hypotheses for the future development of the technology were generated and, with the help of a Delphi study, validated by experts. From these, future scenarios were derived that included the support of technical assistive systems in the service process. These, in turn, were examined with regard to their applicability in the context of various user groups (patients, relatives, nurses, physicians).

The final road map points out needed innovations and initiatives for the use of technical assistive systems in the area of personal services. These innovations and initiatives are implemented in example applications and demonstrators.

Project Partners

  • Forschungsinstitut für Rationalisierung (FIR)
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA
  • Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft (IAW)
  • RWTH Aachen

 

Funding

logo_bmbf_945_650
© Fraunhofer IIS

The “Tech4P“ project was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) from December 1, 2010, to April 30, 2013, under the code 01FG10003. Project sponsor was the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Bonn.

Tech4P

Strategien für die Technologieintegration bei personenbezogenen Dienstleistungen

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® als technische Haushaltshilfe für die Erfassung medizinischer Daten
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® als technische Haushaltshilfe für die Erfassung medizinischer Daten

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® als ein technischer Mobilitätsassistent in Notfällen
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® als ein technischer Mobilitätsassistent in Notfällen

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® zur Kommunikationsunterstützung mit entsprechenden Servicedienstleistern
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Einsatz des Care-O-bot® zur Kommunikationsunterstützung mit entsprechenden Servicedienstleistern

Um personenbezogene Dienstleistungen auch zukünftig der breiten Bevölkerung in hoher Qualität und zu vertretbaren Kosten zur Verfügung zu stellen, muss die Erbringung dieser Dienstleistungen effizienter werden.

Das Projektziel von »Tech4P« bestand in der Entwicklung von Strategien zur Unterstützung personenbezogener Dienstleistungen durch den Einsatz von modernen Technologien.

Anhand von drei konkreten Fallstudien – technische Haushaltshilfe, virtueller Trainer und technische Mobilitätsassistenz – wurden die optimalen Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch, Technik und Organisation identifiziert.

Als Prototyp für die technische Haushaltshilfe wurde der »Care-O-bot® 3« des Fraunhofer-Instituts IPA betrachtet. Hier wurde insbesondere der Einsatz des Roboters zur Kommunikationsunterstützung für entsprechende Servicedienstleister, z. B. in Notfällen oder für die Erfassung gesundheitlicher Daten, untersucht.

Des Weiteren wurden Hypothesen für die zukünftige Technologieentwicklung generiert und mit Hilfe einer Delphi-Studie durch Experten validiert. Daraus konnten Zukunftsszenarien abgeleitet werden, die eine Unterstützung durch technische Assistenzsysteme im Dienstleistungsprozess einschließen. Diese wurden wiederum auf ihre Anwendbarkeit im Umfeld verschiedener Anwendergruppen (Patient, Angehörige, Pfleger, Ärzte) überprüft.

Die finale Roadmap zeigt Innovations- und Handlungsbedarfe für den Einsatz technischer Assistenzsysteme bei personenbezogenen Dienstleistungen auf, die in Beispielapplikationen und Demonstratoren umgesetzt werden.

Projektpartner

  • Forschungsinstitut für Rationalisierung (FIR)
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung IPA
  • Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft (IAW)
  • RWTH Aachen

Förderung

Logo Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Das Projekt »Tech4P« wurde vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 01FG10003 vom 1. Dezember 2010 bis 30. April 2013 gefördert. Projektträger war das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Bonn.