WohnSelbst

Living with Home Medical Care

WohnSelbst: System Architecture
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

WohnSelbst: System Architecture

Intelligent technical systems and special services can support older persons in preventing illness and living in their own home for as long as possible. This is the point of departure for the project “WohnSelbst“, which is intended to help recognize health risks and deliver continuous patient care as early as possible.

Core elements of this project are a regular voluntary health check in the framework of the MCplus preventive health program, as well as the cost-free provision of medical measuring instruments (blood pressure meter, blood glucose meter, medical scale).

With this technological support, the health status of patients is monitored in their own homes, both preventively and therapeutically. The residents can thus continue to live at home without worry and, despite the physical distance to the doctor’s office, receive optimal care. This is made possible by a telemedical competence center, through which the project participants are connected with medical professionals around the clock.

The project is unique in this form in Germany. In its first phase, it addresses older persons who are chronically ill, e. g., suffering from diabetes, obesity, or coronary heart disease. The target group of “WohnSelbst“ also includes persons with signs of risk for these illnesses.

Funding

Logo WohnSelbst Funding
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo WohnSelbst Funding

The “WohnSelbst“ project was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) under the code 16SV3921, from October 1, 2009, to March 31, 2013. The project sponsor was VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH.

WohnSelbst

Zuhause medizinisch umsorgt leben

WohnSelbst: Systemarchitektur
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

WohnSelbst: Systemarchitektur

Intelligente Techniksysteme und spezielle Dienstleistungen können ältere Menschen dabei unterstützen, Krankheiten vorzubeugen und möglichst lange in ihrer eigenen Wohnung zu leben. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde das Projekt »WohnSelbst« aufgesetzt: Es soll helfen, Gesundheitsrisiken zu erkennen und Patienten möglichst frühzeitig engmaschig zu betreuen.

Kernelemente dieses Projekts sind ein regelmäßiger freiwilliger Gesundheitscheck im Rahmen des »MCplus«-Vorsorgeprogramms sowie die Bereitstellung von medizinischen Messgeräten (Blutdruckmessgerät, Blutzuckeranalysegerät, medizinische Waage), die kostenfrei zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Mit dieser technologischen Unterstützung wird der Gesundheitszustand von Patienten – prophylaktisch und therapeutisch – in ihrer Wohnung kontrolliert. Die Mieter können so unbesorgt in ihrer eigenen Wohnung leben und werden trotz räumlicher Distanz zum Arzt optimal versorgt. Dies wird über ein telemedizinisches Kompetenz-Center möglich, über das Teilnehmer des Projekts rund um die Uhr mit medizinischen Fachkräften verbunden sind.

Das Projekt ist in seiner Form in Deutschland einzigartig. Es richtet sich im ersten Schritt an ältere Menschen, die chronisch erkrankt sind, z. B. an Diabetes, Adipositas oder koronaren Herzerkrankungen. Auch Menschen mit Risikoanzeichen für diese Krankheiten gehören zur Zielgruppe des Projekts »WohnSelbst«.

Förderung

Logo WohnSelbst Förderung
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo WohnSelbst Förderung

Das Projekt »WohnSelbst« wurde vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 16SV3921 vom 1. Oktober 2009 bis 31. März 2013 gefördert. Projektträger war die VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH.