universAAL

Logo universAAL
© Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo universAAL

The “universAAL“ project attempts to break down existing barriers to the development and implementation of AAL solutions and support innovative ideas and products in this area, so as to promote a broader acceptance and use of AAL. On the one hand, this helps the users of such solutions – older persons and those who require assistance, as well as caregivers – by making new solutions affordable and more easily usable. On the other hand, service providers profit from simpler and less expensive development, as well as from the uncomplicated adaptation of existing components, services, and systems.

The vision is to enable users to understand and set up services as easily as they are accustomed to from modern operating systems. For this purpose, universAAL will make available an online shop for plug-and-play applications and services that can be easily adapted to the respective devices and users.

The Fraunhofer Gesellschaft is represented in the project by the Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD (Darmstadt). The project draws on experience from preceding projects such as “PERSONA“ and “Genesys“ in order to create a consolidated platform that can serve as a basis for future projects.

universAAL

Logo universAAL
© Foto Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Logo universAAL

Das Projekt »universAAL« versucht vorhandene Barrieren bei Entwicklung und Einsatz von AAL-Lösungen einzureißen und innovative Ideen und Produkte in diesem Bereich zu unterstützen, um eine breitere Akzeptanz und Nutzung von AAL zu ermöglichen. Hierbei wird zum einen den Nutzern solcher Lösungen geholfen (ältere und hilfsbedürftige Personen, sowie Pflegekräften), indem neue Lösungen bezahlbar und einfacher nutzbar werden. Zum anderen profitieren auch Dienstleister, durch einfachere und kostengünstigere Entwicklung, sowie einfache Adaption bestehender Komponenten, Dienste und Systeme.

Die Vision ist Nutzern zu ermöglichen, Dienste so einfach zu erstehen und einzurichten, wie sie es von modernen Betriebssystemen gewohnt sind. »universAAL« wird zu diesem Zweck einen Online-Shop für Plug-and-Play-Anwendungen und Dienste bereitstellen, die einfach auf vorhandene Geräte und Nutzer angepasst werden können.

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ist mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung IGD (Darmstadt) vertreten. Hierbei werden die Erfahrungen von Vorgängerprojekten wie »PERSONA« und »Genesys« eingebracht, um eine konsolidierte Plattform zu erstellen, die in zukünftigen Projekten als Basis dienen kann.